Home | About Us | Office Bearers Bucta | President / G.S | Important G.O | Contact Us
   NEW!   Ranchi NEC Meeting Notice to be held on 16th September 2012 AIFUCTO Conference 2012 and Golden Jubilee Celebration Reimbursement of Arrears - Letter from MHRD


Bangalore University College Teachersí Association (BUCTA) was formed in the year 1964. The first President of the association was Late. Padmabhushana Dr. H.Narasimhaiah, a Gandhian, renowned Educationalist and former Vice Chancellor of Bangalore University. Prof. B R A Rao was the founder Secretary.

During that period all the colleges including Medical, Engineering, Dental, B.Ed., etc were under the BUCTA banner. The Association mainly strived to maintain the academic standards and also to protect the service interests of the teachers.

The President and the other office bearers were elected by the Managing Committee Members of BUCTA. As the association grew in its strength, the functioning of BUCTA also changed and made amendments in the election process of the association. The General Body elected the President and the other office bearers. After the first general elections, Prof. K Dwarakanath, Professor of English, at National College, Basavanagudi, was elected the President with two Secretaries Prof. B R A Rao and Dr. G Ramakrishna.Dr. G Ramakrishna not only served as the President and General Secretary of BUCTA for a number of years, but also played a key role in making this organization strong and a force to reckon with. Dr. G Ramakrishna also played a pivotal role in formation of Federation of University And College Teachers Associations in Karnataka - (FUCTAK) which became a common platform for the University and College Teachers of the state of Karnataka to discuss the academic and service matters.

Another active member who strengthened the hands of Dr. G Ramakrishna was Prof. T Venkatesh Murthy. These two persons helped BUCTA to concretize its relationship with All India Federation of University and College Teachersí Organizations - AIFUCTO. BUCTA has been playing a key role in carrying the message of AIFUCTO to all its members through allies and conferences organizing AIFUCTO conferences in Karnataka from time to time.

The first major struggle of BUCTA was started in the year 1973 and culminated in getting the following service benefits conceded by Karnataka Government.
- Direct payment of salary system
- Abolition of the Posts of Demonstrators and Tutors in the Department of Collegiate Education
- Cadre of Lecturers to be declared as Gazetted posts

- Introduction of Triple Benefit Scheme (Family Pension, Gratuity and Comprehensive Insurance) Members of BUCTA have an obligation to remember the help of Late. Sri. Devraj Urs and Late. Sri. S M Yahya Chief Minister and Higher Education Minister of Karnataka respectively at the time when the above demands of the college teachers were conceded.

- Implementation of UGC pay scales.

The next major struggle of BUCTA was for the switch over from the state scales to UGC pay scales of1986. The following Presidents and Secretaries took the onus of bringing together the members of various teachers organizations in the states for a protracted struggle and forcing the State Government to concede the just demands of the college teachers.

Dr. G Ramakrishna, Dr. K G Srinivasamurthy, Prof. G K Govinda Rao, Prof. T G Raghava, Prof. T Venkateshmurthy, Prof. Guruprakash, Dr. G R Kantaraj, Dr. M Ramachandra Gowda and Prof. J K Jain and Dr. T V Narasimha Rao Sri. Veerappa Moily and late. Sri. K H Ranganath as Higher Education Ministers deserve gratitude from the college teachers because of their pro-active role in the implementation of the 1986 UGC pay scales. The college teacherís pay scales were permanently delinked from state pay scales making way for a struggle free revision of pay scales as and when UGC revises the pay scales of teachers of universities and colleges.

The state Govt. in the year 2001 issued an order to cut the grant in aid to all the aided college teachers. The then president Prof. Ravindra Reshme and his team mobilized all the teachers of the state and organized a rally at Bangalore and were able to make the state government to withdraw the order.

Prof.K.G.Lokesh the then President and Dr.Halesh.R as Presidents of BUCTA have played an important role in protecting the professional interests of the college teachers both at the government level and at the university level.

The 2006 UGC scales fulfilled the long pending demand of teachers for a respectable pay packet. Under the leadership of Dr.Halesh.R (President)and Dr.Ramachandrappa (Secretary) BUCTA played an important role in the implementation of the long pending 2006 UGC scale of pay and also found acceptable solutions for a number of anomalies in the service benefits of the College Teachers.

BUCTA cannot forget the contributions of Late.Prof.Manappa the then President, and Dr. K G Srinivas Murthy, Syndicate member, Bangalore University, when Dr. N R Shetty was the Vice-Chancellor, in getting the office accommodation in the Central College campus. The association is grateful to Dr. N R Shetty and Prof. A M Pathan, the then Registrar of Bangalore University, for their pro teacher stand. The Present office bearers, under the stewardship of Prof.KM. Nagaraj (President) and Dr.R.Ramachandrappa (secretary) are doing their best in getting the due recognition in academic matters at the University level.

BUCTA stands for :
- Conscientious input for the quality enhancement in higher education
- Improvement of professional status of teachers of higher education.
- Improved relationship between affiliated colleges and university.

Home | About Us | Office Bearers Bucta | President / G.S | Important G.O | Contact Us
Website Powered by Regnant Technology